Something Beautiful

Newsboys - GoThere’s something therapeutic about music from our past, even if it’s not that distant of a past.

In 2007 I lived in Mexico. I’m sure most of you knew that, but just in case you didn’t, it’s true. I literally lived on this particular album that year. It seemed at the time to embody everything that God was teaching me and every attitude I wanted to work on. I haven’t listened to it for a long time.

Last week I went to WinterJam in Tulsa and got to see the newest incarnation of the Newsboys perform. It was fun. They were good, but they aren’t the same. That’s a topic for another post though. What it did for me was remind me of how much God spoke to me through this album here.

It’s funny how we come back to things like this and not only remember the lessons and encouragement from the past, but see new, deeper, stronger things that God’s doing in our life reflected in the same music the lifted us up before. Isn’t God good like that?

So here you have it. This is what’s currently being listened to on The Teacher’s Desk. Well, technically, this one’s from the teacher’s apartment, seeing as how I’m cleaning my apartment to this album blaring from my speakers. Either way, enjoy the Newsboys, everybody.

It’s the child on her wedding day
It’s the daddy that gives her away
Something beautiful
When we laugh so hard we cry
It’s the love between you and I
Something beautiful

 

Leave a Reply

